Switching to another paid plan
At any time, you can switch your Ecwid account to another payment plan: Venture, Business, or Unlimited, and change your billing cycle (from a monthly to an annual plan or vice versa).
When you upgrade to a higher tier plan, all your settings will remain intact, plus you will gain access to additional features.
When you switch to a lower plan, the features that are unsupported by the new plan become unavailable. The store will use the default settings. Once you upgrade back to the previous plan, your settings will be restored.
To switch to another paid plan:
- From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
- Click on the plan you want to switch to. You will see how much you need to pay for the new plan (minus any remaining credit from your current plan, if applicable) and the date of your next, upcoming charge, like this:
- Select a monthly or annual payment plan.
- Click Pay and Switch.
- Open your Ecwid iOS app.
- Go to Store → Billing and Plans.
- Swipe left to see all the plans and prices.
- Click on the subscription plan you want. You will see a pop-up from the App Store.
- Confirm the payment.
Your account will be switched to your new plan immediately. Your subscription will be renewed automatically. You can always see your current plan and the date of your next, upcoming charge on the Billing and Plans page.
When you switch to a higher paid plan, e.g. from Venture to Business, you still keep your store settings plus you gain additional features that you can set up and start using.
When you switch to a lower paid plan, e.g. from Business to Venture, the features that are not supported by the new plan become unavailable and the store will revert to the default settings. However, if you upgrade back up to the previous plan, the settings will be restored.
For example, say you are on the Business plan and you edit the invoice template. If you then switch to the Venture plan where invoice editing is not available, the invoice will revert back to the default template. Subsequently, if you then switch back to the Business plan, the custom invoice that you previously set up while on the Business plan will be restored.
What happens to your money when you switch to another plan
That depends on how you pay for your subscription: whether in the Ecwid admin or in the Ecwid mobile iOS app (in-app subscription).
Subscriptions paid in the Ecwid admin: When you switch to another plan, the money that you paid for your previous plan and still have remaining will be used towards the new plan.
For example, say you upgrade to the Business plan and decide to switch to the lower Venture plan. The cost of the period that you’ve spent on the Business plan will be deducted and the rest of the amount will be used towards the Venture plan. If you don’t have enough funds to pay for an entire month of the Venture plan, you will need to pay the remaining amount.
When you upgrade to a higher plan, the remaining amount will also be used towards your new plan. All you have to do is just pay the remaining amount.
In any case, you will see all the payment details in your Ecwid admin before you confirm the switch. You will see how much of your balance will be used towards your new plan, how much you will need to pay, and when your next charge date is. After you familiarize yourself with the details, click the “Pay” button and complete the switch to your new plan.
In-app subscriptions: When you upgrade to a higher plan (e.g. from Venture to Business), your account will be immediately upgraded and you will be refunded the unused amount that you paid for your previous subscription.
When you switch to a lower plan (e.g. from Business to Venture), your subscription will remain until the next renewal date. At that point, your plan will be changed and you will be charged the price of the new plan.