Closing your Instant Site for maintenance
You can temporarily hide your Instant Site from visitors if it is still under construction or you’re making a redesign. After you close your site, visitors won’t be able to view any of the site’s pages, and they will see a special “The site is currently under maintenance” notice instead. Viewing your catalog and placing orders in your online store will also become unavailable after you close the website for maintenance.
Temporarily closing site to visitors
You can stop visitors from accessing your Instant Site by enabling the maintenance mode. For example, if you're updating your site’s design and want to make sure it’s finalized before showing it to the public.
To temporarily close website to visitors:
- From your Ecwid admin, go to Website → Edit Site.
- In the site editor, click Settings → Site Visibility.
- Enable the Turn on maintenance mode toggle.
- (Optional) Customize the default “The site is currently under maintenance” notice text.
- Click Publish.
That’s it. Now, visitors, including you, will see the maintenance notice whenever they open any of the site’s pages.
After you close the site to visitors, you can make edits in the site editor and publish them. The changes will only become available to the public when you open the site back to visitors.
Opening site back to visitors
Once you are ready to show your website available to the public, you can open it back to site visitors.
To open website back to visitors:
- From your Ecwid admin, go to Website → Edit Site.
- In the site editor, click Settings → Site Visibility.
- Turn off the Turn on maintenance mode toggle.
- Click Publish.
That’s it. The latest published version of your website will become available to any site visitor.