Deleting products

You can delete a single product in your store or remove multiple products at once, for example, get rid of all sample products. When you remove a product, it’s permanently deleted from your store, and you can’t undo this action. If you want to hide any product from customers but don’t want to delete it, you can disable it instead.

Once you sign up with Ecwid, your store will have sample products. They are not actual items and were created just as an example of how your catalog may look. If you don’t delete them, sample products remain in your catalog but not counted as your products. If you edit them, they will count as if you added your own product. You can add as many items as your plan allows. Before adding your own products, delete samples so customers won’t get confused over test items in your store.

Disable products

Hiding particular products from customers can be helpful if you sell seasonal clothes, Holiday specials, or just run out of stock. Disabled products will not be shown to your customers, but they will remain in your catalog in the Ecwid admin. You can enable them at any time.

To hide products from customers:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to Catalog → Products.
  2. Turn off the Enabled toggler for the product you want to disable.
    To disable products in bulk, select products you want to disable (you can use product filter to find all the items you want to disable) and click Bulk Update → Enable or Disable → Disable Selected.

To show the product, turn the toggler back on.

Delete products

You can delete any product if you are not going to sell it. You also need to remove test products after creating a store so when you go live your customers won’t be confused with the test items.

If you want to remove a product from a category, you can unassign the product from this category. If you want to remove products from the Featured Products section only, you should remove these products from the default Store Front Page category.

Deleting one product

To permanently delete a product from your catalog:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to Catalog → Products.
  2. Find a product you want to delete.
  3. For this product click on the v icon next to the Edit Product option to unfold the dropdown menu.
  4. Select Delete Product:

    Deleting_products.jpg

  5. Confirm you want to delete this product.

Deleting several products

You can get rid of several items at once. For example, when you want to remove demo products that are added to Ecwid to show you examples of product setup.

To delete several products at once:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to Catalog → Products.
  2. Select products you want to delete. You can use filters to locate all items meeting certain criteria (for example, all Disabled items or products displayed in the store front).
  3. Click Bulk Update that appears on the top of the product list.
  4. Choose Delete Selected.
  5. Confirm your choice:

    Deleting_products.gif

Was this article helpful?

Awesome! Thanks for your feedback!

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry about that! What went wrong?
18 out of 24 found this helpful
10
We use cookies and similar technologies to remember your preferences, measure effectiveness of our campaigns, and analyze depersonalized data to improve performance of our site. By choosing «Accept», you consent to the use of cookies.
Accept cookies Decline