Pausing, downgrading, or closing your Ecwid store

If you’ve decided to stop using your Ecwid store for some time or forever (sorry to hear that!), you can do it any time. You can temporarily put your store on hold (for example, if you have a seasonal business), switch your account to the Free plan, or delete your account completely.

You want to... Description Action
Pause store You will still be able to access your Ecwid admin and set up your store, but customers won’t be able to place orders. Switch to the special Suspension plan at $5 a month.
Cancel subscription Stops your paid subscription. All settings remain and will be restored once you go back to the paid plan. Switch to the Free plan.
Delete account completely Storefront will be deleted forever: all of your store data will be erased and you won’t be able to access your Ecwid admin. Unsubscribe from all paid apps from the App Market and from the Ecwid admin, close your account.

Subscription charges are non-refundable. For more information, see Ecwid’s terms of service.

Pausing your Ecwid store

If you have a seasonal business, you can put your Ecwid store on hold during the off-season. For that purpose, we offer the Suspension plan for $5 a month. You can also use this plan if you need to work on your store and prevent customers from placing orders in the storefront.

On the Suspension plan, you can access your Ecwid admin, view and edit all your settings and the catalog, but your checkout is disabled. This means that customers can view your products and browse the store, but they can’t place orders.

Suspension plan  
Price $5/month
Number of products Unlimited
Features All the features of the Business plan are available on the Suspension plan
Control Panel Available
Storefront Open
Checkout Disabled

To switch to the Suspension plan, please send us a request at billing@ecwid.com. We’ll make the switch for you and email you further details.

If you use paid apps from our App Market, uninstall them to avoid charges while your store is paused.

Closing storefront for maintenance

If you don’t want customers to browse your storefront while your store is on the Suspension plan, you can also close the storefront. Customers will see “The store is closed for maintenance” message when they open your store address and won’t be able to browse the store.

To close the storefront:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to Settings → General → Store profile.
  2. Click Close Storefront for Maintenance.
  3. (Optional) Change the default message (“The store is closed for maintenance”) and add your custom text. You can specify the reason for the closure and tell when you’ll be back online.

Your storefront will be closed. When customers open your store link, they will either see the “The store is closed for maintenance” message or your custom message if you added one. Once you are ready to go online, open your storefront from the Ecwid admin, in Settings → General → Store profile.

Downgrading your Ecwid account

If you don’t want to prolong your Ecwid paid subscription, you can cancel it by switching to the Free plan at any time. After the switch, features of your previous paid plan will become unavailable. The store will use the default settings. If you upgrade back to the previous plan, the settings will be restored.

Subscription charges are non-refundable. For more information, see Ecwid’s terms of service.

You should downgrade your account the same way as you upgraded it: either from the Ecwid admin or the Ecwid mobile app for iOS.

To cancel your paid Ecwid subscription:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  2. Click Switch under the Free plan.
  3. For those who see this warning: “Your products exceed the Free plan limit”: Go to Catalog → Products and delete all but 10 products.
  4. The Free plan allows only 10 products, so make sure that you comply with this limit to complete the downgrade.
  5. Select the reason why you decided to leave. You can also leave your comments and suggestions about improving Ecwid.
  6. Click Switch to Free.

Your Ecwid account will be switched to the Free plan immediately. Your payment method will be removed from your Ecwid account and there will be no further charges. You can use the account on the Free plan as long as you wish.

Subscription charges are non-refundable. For more information, see Ecwid’s terms of service.

Deleting your Ecwid account

If you decide to stop running your online store, you can delete the account at any time from your Ecwid admin. All of your store data will be erased and you won’t be able to access your Ecwid admin anymore after that.

For Ecwid users on Wix: To close your store, you need to stop your Ecwid subscription in your Wix account, in Billing & PaymentsSubscriptions, then email Ecwid support to submit an account closure request. Ecwid support will close your store for you. All of your store data will be erased and you won’t be able to access your Ecwid admin anymore after that.

To delete your Ecwid account:

  1. If you have any third-party apps that have your payment information outside of Ecwid, then cancel your service with those apps to avoid being billed externally after you close your store.
  2. If you are using a paid plan, downgrade the account to the Free plan.
  3. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Profile.
  4. Click Close my account. This button appears only as long as you are on the Free plan.
  5. Confirm that you want to close the account.

After that, you will be logged out of the Ecwid admin and your store data will be deleted.

If there is anything we can do to help you keep using the store, contact us. We’ll do our best to find a solution or a workaround for you.
Was this article helpful?

Awesome! Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry about that! We are here to assist you by email or chat.

Contact support