Upgrading or downgrading a paid plan

You can change your Ecwid subscription plan at any time. To see your current plan and the date of your upcoming charge, visit the Billing and Plans page in your Ecwid admin on desktop or mobile app. To learn more about the different plan types, check out this article: Ecwid plans and features.

Only store owners with billing permissions can make these changes.

Upgrading from a paid plan to a higher plan

When upgrading to a higher plan, all your settings will remain intact, plus you will gain access to additional features. Prorated credit for the unused proportion on the current subscription will be automatically applied so that you only pay the difference.

To upgrade your paid subscription:

  1. Log in as a store owner.
  2. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  3. Click Upgrade on the plan you want to switch to. You will see how much you need to pay for the new plan (minus any remaining credit from your current plan, if applicable) and the date of your upcoming charge:

Switching_to_another_paid_plan.png

  1. Select your preferred billing cycle: Monthly or Annual.
  2. Click Pay and Switch.

Your account will be switched to the new plan immediately.

Your subscription will be renewed automatically.

Downgrading to a lower pricing plan

When downgrading to a lower plan, you will lose access to some features of a higher plan. The remaining time will be converted into credit and will be automatically applied towards the new plan subscription.

To downgrade to a lower plan:

  1. Log in as a store owner.
  2. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  3. Click Switch on the plan you want to switch to.
  4. Select your preferred billing cycle – Monthly or Annual:

Downgrading_Ecwid_paid_subscription.png

  1. Click Switch to [new plan].

The downgrade will take place immediately, you will not be able to use higher plan features.

Once your downgrade takes effect, your store reverts to the default settings of the plan you chose. See plans and features breakdown.

Note, if you upgrade back to the previous plan, your store settings will be restored. For example, let’s say you are on the Business plan and use a customized invoice template. If you downgrade to the Venture plan where invoice editing is not available, the invoice reverts to the default template. Subsequently, when you switch back to the Business plan, the custom invoice you previously set up while on the Business plan will be restored.

Understanding charges

If you downgraded your plan

If you downgraded your plan to a lower pricing plan, the remaining time will be converted into credit and will be automatically applied towards the new plan subscription. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

If you upgraded your plan

If you upgraded your plan from one pricing plan to a higher plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

If you switched to monthly billing

If you switched from annual to monthly billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. Credit remaining from an old plan will be applied towards the new plan.

Learn more: Changing from yearly to monthly billing cycle

If you switched to annual billing

If you switch from monthly to annual billing, your old one-month and new 12-months periods will be summed up and the next renewal date will correspondingly change. If you upgrade the same day, then credit remaining from the current subscription will be applied towards the subscription to your new plan.

Learn more: Changing from monthly to yearly billing cycle

Was this article helpful?

Awesome! Thanks for your feedback!

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry about that! What went wrong?
27 out of 61 found this helpful
10
We use cookies and similar technologies to remember your preferences, measure effectiveness of our campaigns, and analyze depersonalized data to improve performance of our site. By choosing «Accept», you consent to the use of cookies.
Accept cookies Decline