Managing subscription

Ecwid offers four different plan types, a free plan, and three paid plans: Venture, Business, and Unlimited. Each plan differs by price and available features. See the full list of Ecwid plans and features. You can pay for each plan monthly or annually:

  Free Venture Business Unlimited
Monthly plan $0 $15 $35 $99
Annual plan $0 $150 $350 $990
Transaction fees $0 $0 $0 $0

When you create an account in Ecwid, you automatically receive the Free plan. You can upgrade your account or switch to another plan at any time in your Ecwid admin → My Profile → Billing and Plans.

Only the account owner can manage the store subscription. If you are logged into the store with a staff account, you won’t have access to the billing page.

Purchasing a pricing plan

As your business grows, you may want to explore more features offered as part of Venture, Business, and Unlimited plans. See the full list of Ecwid plans and features. Not sure which plan to choose? Contact us. We’ll be happy to help!

To upgrade your Ecwid account to a pricing plan:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
If you have several stores, please make sure that you're logged in to the store you want to upgrade.
  1. Click the Upgrade button next to the plan you want to subscribe to:

Ecwid plansg

  1. Select a monthly or annual payment plan.
  2. Enter your payment info: you can pay with a credit card or PayPal account.

    If your store is located in Europe or Australia, Ecwid charges VAT or GST correspondingly and the tax is automatically added to your total. If you have a VAT ID or ABN, add it in your Ecwid Control Panel to pay for the subscription without the tax.
  3. Click Pay and Upgrade.

After you complete the payment, your Ecwid account will be upgraded immediately.

Subscription is renewed automatically until you cancel it. You can see your next charge date in the Ecwid control panel → My profile → Billing and plans.

Switching to another paid plan

As your business grows, you may want to add even more products to your store catalog or to use features that are available on other paid plans such as staff accounts, order editing, discounts for customer groups, etc. You can switch to another plan at any time in your Ecwid admin or in the Ecwid Ecommerce mobile app for iOS.

To switch to another paid plan:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  2. Click on the plan that you want to switch to. You will see how much you owe for the new plan (minus any remaining credit from your current plan, if applicable) and the date of your next charge, like this:

Ecwid switch to another plan

When you switch to another plan, Ecwid takes into account the amount that you paid for the previous plan and haven't spent. This balance is used towards the payment for the new plan. It is taken as a credit that covers (partially or fully) the prorated charge for the plan you switch to.
  1. Select a monthly or annual payment plan.
  2. Click Pay and Switch.

Your account will be switched to the new plan immediately. On the next charge date, you will be charged the full amount for a new period of your new plan.

What happens to your store settings when you switch to another plan

When you switch to a higher paid plan, e.g. from Venture to Business, all the settings you had will remain in your store, plus you will get the new features that you can set up and start using.

When you switch to a lower paid plan, e.g. from Business to Venture, the features that are not supported by the new plan will become unavailable. The store will use the default settings. If you upgrade back up to the previous plan, the settings will be restored.

For example, you are on the Business plan and you edit the invoice template. If you switch to the Venture plan where invoice editing is not supported, the invoice will go back to the default template. If you switch back to the Business plan, the custom invoice that you previously set up on the Business plan will be restored.

Pausing your Ecwid store

If you have a seasonal business, you may want to put your Ecwid store on hold during the off-season. For that purpose, we offer the Suspension plan for $5 a month.

With this plan, you keep all of the products and settings in your store and still have access to the Ecwid control panel where you can edit your store settings. Your storefront remains open, but the checkout gets disabled. This means that customers can view your products and browse the store, but they won’t be able to place orders.

If you don’t want customers to browse your storefront during your off-season, you can close the storefront in your Ecwid admin, go to Settings → General → Store profile → click Close Storefront for Maintenance. You can also change the default “The store is closed for maintenance” message and let customers know when the store will be back online.
Suspension plan  
Price $5/month
Number of products Unlimited
Features All the features of the Business plan are available on the Suspension plan
Control Panel Available
Storefront Open
Checkout Disabled

If you want to switch to the Suspension plan, please email us at billing@ecwid.com. We’ll make the switch for you and email you further details.

If you use paid apps from our App Market, uninstall them to avoid being billed while your store is paused.

Canceling your Ecwid subscription

You can pause your store temporarily or downgrade your plan at any time. Make sure to cancel your app subscriptions as well to avoid additional future charges.

The instructions on how to downgrade your account depending on how you pay for the subscription: via your Ecwid admin, or via the Ecwid Ecommerce mobile app for iOS. To find out how you pay, go to your Ecwid admin in My Profile → Billing and Plans and find the payment method:

  • A credit/debit card or PayPal account. This means that you've subscribed to a paid plan via the Ecwid control panel.
  • Apple In-App Subscription. This means that you've subscribed via the Ecwid mobile app for iOS.

To cancel your paid Ecwid subscription:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  2. Click Switch under the Free plan.

Downgrade Ecwid account

  1. At this step, you may see this warning: “Your products exceed the Free plan limit”:
    3.1. If you don’t see this warning, skip to step 4.
    3.2. If you see this warning, go to CatalogProducts and delete all but 10 products. The Free plan allows only 10 products; so make sure that you comply with this limit to complete the downgrade.
  2. Select the reason why you decided to leave. You can also leave your comments and suggestions about improving Ecwid.
  3. Click Switch to Free.

Your Ecwid account will be switched to the Free plan immediately. Your payment method will be removed from the account and there will be no further charges. You can use the account on the Free plan as long as you wish.

Subscription charges are non-refundable. For more information, see Ecwid’s terms of service.

Deleting your Ecwid account

If you decide to stop running your online store, you can delete the account at any time in your Ecwid admin. All of your store data will be erased and you won’t be able to access your Ecwid admin anymore after that.

For Ecwid users on Wix: To close your store you need to stop your Ecwid subscription in Billing & Payments → Subscriptions in your Wix account, then email Ecwid support to submit an account closure request. Ecwid support will close your store for you. All of your store data will be erased and you won’t be able to access your Ecwid admin anymore after that.

To cancel Ecwid account:

  1. If you have any third-party apps that have your payment information outside of Ecwid, then cancel your service with those apps to avoid being billed externally after you close your store.
  2. If you are using a paid plan, downgrade the account to the Free plan.
  3. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Profile.
  4. Click Close my account. This button appears only when you are on the Free plan.
  5. You will see a pop-up message, confirm that you want to close the account.

After that, you will be logged out of the Ecwid control panel and your store data will be deleted.

If there is anything we can do to help you keep using the store, contact us. We’ll do our best to find a solution or a workaround for you.

Related articles

Ecwid plans and features
Reviewing your Ecwid account receipts
Ecwid mobile app for iOS
Ecwid mobile app for Android

Was this article helpful?

Awesome! Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry about that! We are here to assist you by email or chat.

Contact support