Purchasing a pricing plan

Ecwid offers four different plan types, a Free plan, and three paid plans: Venture, Business, and Unlimited. Plans differ by price and available features. See the full list of Ecwid plans and features

When you create an account in Ecwid, you automatically receive the Free plan. You can upgrade your account or switch to another plan at any time. You can pay for your store subscription with a credit or debit card or a PayPal account if you upgrade in the web admin panel in Ecwid. If you upgrade in the Ecwid mobile app for iOS, you can pay with your Apple ID account. Monthly or yearly subscription available. Once your account is upgraded all further recurring charges are made automatically with the same payment method used when you subscribed.

Only the account owner can manage the store subscription — upgrade, downgrade, pause, or cancel the subscription. If you are logged into the store with a staff account, you won’t have access to the billing page.

Upgrading to a paid plan

As your business grows, you may want to explore more features offered as part of Venture, Business, and Unlimited plans. See the full list of Ecwid plans and features to pick the plan that suits your needs best.

You can upgrade your account from the Ecwid admin or from the Ecwid iOS mobile app. In the Ecwid iOS app, you can subscribe to a special 3-month plan that’s not available from the Ecwid admin. Learn more about the pricing breakdown and billing cycle.

From the Billing and Plans page, you can manage your subscription: see your current plan, the next charge date, and switch to another plan. After you upgrade to a paid plan, the subscription is renewed automatically until you cancel it.

To upgrade your Ecwid account to a pricing plan:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  2. Click the Upgrade button next to the plan you want to subscribe to.
  3. Select a monthly or annual plan.
  4. If you are from the EU and have a VAT ID, click Enter your VAT ID to waive tax. More about VAT in the EU.
  5. Enter your payment info. You can pay with a credit/debit card or PayPal account.
  6. Click Pay and Upgrade.

After you complete the payment, your Ecwid account will be switched to the new plan immediately.

Switching to another paid plan

At any time, you can switch your Ecwid account to another paid plan.

When you upgrade to a higher tier plan, all your settings remain intact plus you get access to more features.

When you switch to a lower plan, the features that are not supported by the new plan become unavailable. The store will use the default settings. Once you upgrade back to the previous plan, the settings will be restored.

To switch to another paid plan:

  1. From your Ecwid admin, go to My Profile → Billing and Plans.
  2. Click on the plan that you want to switch to. You will see how much you owe for the new plan (minus any remaining credit from your current plan, if applicable) and the date of your next charge, like this:

Switching_to_another_paid_plan.png

  1. Select a monthly or annual payment plan.
  2. Click Pay and Switch.

Your account will be switched to the new plan immediately. The subscription is renewed automatically. You can always see your current plan and the next charge date on the Billing and plans page.

When you switch to another plan, Ecwid takes into account the amount that you paid for the previous plan and haven't spent. This balance is used towards the payment for the new plan. It is taken as a credit that covers (partially or fully) the prorated charge for the plan you switch to.

What happens to your store settings when you switch to another plan

When you switch to a higher paid plan, e.g. from Venture to Business, all the settings you had will remain in your store, plus you will get the new features that you can set up and start using.

When you switch to a lower paid plan, e.g. from Business to Venture, the features that are not supported by the new plan will become unavailable. The store will use the default settings. If you upgrade back up to the previous plan, the settings will be restored.

For example, you are on the Business plan and you edit the invoice template. If you switch to the Venture plan where invoice editing is not supported, the invoice will go back to the default template. If you switch back to the Business plan, the custom invoice that you previously set up on the Business plan will be restored.

Related articles

Ecwid plans and features
Reviewing your Ecwid account receipts
Pausing, downgrading, or deleting your Ecwid store

Was this article helpful?

Awesome! Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry about that! We are here to assist you by email or chat.

Contact support